Scholarships and Awards

This page lists the scholarships and awards that are available to students through the generosity of various donors. Monetary amounts vary from year to year depending on available funds.

The first section lists awards and competitions that students can apply for or submit entries to. The following sections list scholarships that are granted through each concentration.

Scholarship recipients are decided by a School of Journalism faculty committee, and according to criteria specified by the scholarship endowers. Concentration-specific awards and scholarships are decided by the faculty within each concentration, and also according to the criteria specified by the endowers.

Scholarships and award competitions for 2016-2017 will be posted and announced in the spring 2017 semester.


Christopher Nathan Bell Memorial Scholarships

Established by Caleb and Beth Bell in memory of their son Chris, an MTSU journalism graduate. Open to junior and senior journalism majors. This year’s competition will be through reporting assignments judged by a panel of industry experts. 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards.
Details: bell_flyer.2016.pdf

Douglas E. Stults Memorial Scholarships

Established in memory of Sidelines Editor Doug Stults, who died during his senior year.
Requirements: Sophomore or higher journalism major with a minimum 2.70 GPA. Applicants must submit an application and three writing samples in support of their application. 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards.
Details: stults_flyer.2016.pdf
Application form: stults_application.2016.pdf

Himebaugh Scholarship

Established in in honor of Dr. Glenn Himebaugh, MTSU Professor Emeritus, Journalism.
Requirements: Sophomore or higher with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Applicants must submit an application and an essay on an assigned topic.
Details: himebaugh_flyer.2016.pdf
Application form: himebaugh_application.2016.pdf

Diversity Scholarship

Established by former director of the MTSU School of Journalism Dr. Dwight Brooks.
Requirements: School of Journalism major, minimum 3.5 GPA in journalism, 3.0 overall, active in an organization or initiative that provides charitable or academic service to MTSU or community in which the recipient lives. Preference given to minority or underrepresented group.
Details: diversity_flyer.2016.pdf
Application form: diversity_application.2016.pdf



John Seigenthaler Awards

Two awards: Outstanding graduate and outstanding junior in advertising.

Parente Merit Advertising Scholarships

Based on academic achievement and contributions to the Advertising Club.

Outstanding Student in Media Planning Award

The Outstanding Media Student Award goes to the student with the highest point total in Advertising Media Planning (ADV 3480) over a two-semester period.

The Weazer Farwell Scholarship

The Weazer Farwell Scholarship is given to a Journalism major who has earned a grade point average of 3.4 or greater in journalism classes and an overall grade point average of 3.0 or greater.
Contact the Journalism office or Dr. Tricia Farwell for more information.


John Seigenthaler Award

For outstanding print journalism graduate.

Herman Eskew Award

Scholarship awarded to a student who exhibits the most promise as an editor. Established in memory of Tennessean City Editor Herman Eskew.

News Channel 5 scholarship

For an outstanding minority Multimedia Journalism student.

Anna Lee Wall memorial scholarship

For an outstanding female Multimedia Journalism student.

Media Studies

John Seigenthaler Award

For outstanding student in Media Studies.

Public Relations

John Seigenthaler Awards

Two awards: Outstanding graduate and outstanding junior in public relations.

PRSSA Merit Scholarship

Merit award to outstanding member of MTSU’s PRSSA chapter.
Sophomore standing or higher; minimum 2.5 GPA.

Visual Communication

John Seigenthaler Awards

Three awards: Outstanding senior, special achievement and outstanding junior in visual communication.

Middle Tennessee State University, a Tennessee Board of Regents institution
1301 East Main Street, Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 USA +1.615.898.2300

Middle Tennessee State University, in its educational programs and activities involving students and employees, does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, or age. Furthermore, the university does not discriminate against veterans or individuals with disabilities.

Tennessee Board of Regents Online Degree Program

Tennessee Board of Regents Online Degree Program